EL PASO, Texas (KTSM) — Five school boards across Texas have received the 2023 Texas Honor School Board title by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA).

Among the five schools, the Ysleta ISD Board of Trustees were once again named a statewide Honor Board.

This is the third time Ysleta ISD Trustees have been chosen as a statewide Honor Board and were previously recognized in 2011 and 1973, according to the district.

The current elected members of the Ysleta ISD Board of Trustees are President Cruz A. Ochoa, Vice President Carlos Bustillos, Secretary Kathryn R. Lucero, and Trustees Mike Dwyer, Shane Haggerty, Chris Hernandez, and Connie Woodruff.

YISD Superintendent Xavier De La Torre wrote in his nomination of the board stating, “Since 2021, the diverse and rigorous educational programs made possible through the support of our board of trustees have not only led the way in the El Paso area, but across the state and nation, resulting in numerous honors and national accolades. … School improvement and student success are at the forefront of every decision made by our board.”

TASA officials said the selection committee was impressed by the Ysleta ISD board’s commitment to academic excellence and focus on continuous improvement.

The other school boards that were selected are the following:

  • Corsicana ISD Board of Trustees, Region 12, Diane Frost, nominating superintendent
  • Crowley ISD Board of Trustees, Region 11, Michael McFarland, nominating superintendent
  • Montgomery ISD Board of Trustees, Region 6, Heath Morrison, nominating superintendent
  • Texas City Board of Trustees, Region 4, Melissa Duarte, nominating superintendent

The five Texas Honor School Boards are now finalists for TASA’s highest statewide honor, the 2023 Outstanding School Board.

Ysleta ISD and the other four finalists will be interviewed, and one outstanding school board winner will be announced at the TASA/TASB Convention in San Antonio in late September.

Each year TASA recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.