May 1 Election: Who and what is on the ballot


This election cycle focuses on EPISD, SISD school board races

In this Sept. 8, 2020 photo, voting booths are kept socially distant at the Chesterfield, N.H. polling site. A majority of President Donald Trump’s supporters plan to cast their ballot on Election Day, while about half of Joe Biden’s backers plan to vote by mail. That’s according to a new poll from The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research that finds 54% of voters say they will vote before polls open on Nov. 3. (Kristopher Radder/The Brattleboro Reformer via AP)

EL PASO, Texas (KTSM) — It’s Election Day and if you haven’t been to the polls yet, there’s still some time to get to vote.

The May 1 Uniform Election’s biggest races are for board seats on the El Paso Independent School District and the Socorro Independent School District boards of trustees, however, there are important elections and propositions on the ballot in some of the county’s outlying communities as well.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. for the May 1 Uniform election. You can find your voting center at

Here is who and what is on the ballot (info collected from sample ballots on for Saturday’s election:

There are four seats up for grabs in both the EPISD and SISD board of trustees races:

El Paso Independent School District Board of Trustees

District No. 1

  • Leah Hanany
  • Jennie Tipton Lasley
  • Arturo Dominguez

District No. 3

  • Rene Fierro
  • Leslie Hoard
  • Josh Acevedo

District No. 4

  • Diane M. Dye
  • Frances de Santos Whitaker
  • Isabel Hernandez
  • Fainot Pierre
  • Claudia Soto
  • Betty Ann Halliburton

District No. 5

  • Willeta I. Corbett
  • Israel Irrobali
  • Jerome Tilghman
  • Cordia L. “Vanessa” Betts
  • Stephen W. Hayes, Sr.

Socorro Independent School District Board of Trustees

District No. 2

  • Jack Duncan, Jr.
  • Veronica J. Esparza
  • William Carrasco
  • Cynthia “Cindy” Najera

District No. 3

  • Fancy Adams
  • Angelica Rodriguez
  • Ricardo Castellano

District No. 4

  • Jaime Martinez
  • Paul Guerra

District No. 5

  • Pablo Barrera
  • Gary Gandara

Horizon Regional Municipal Utility District

Proposition A

The issuance of $225,000,000 bonds for the construction, repair and replacement of waterworks system and sanitary sewer system and the levy of taxes adequate to provide for payment of the bonds.

Proposition B

The issuance of $225,000,000 refunding bonds for the refunding of any bonds outstanding at the time of issuance and the levy of taxes adequate to provide for payment for the returning bonds.

Paseo del Este Municipal Utility District No. 5 Board of Directors

  • Kristen Ortega
  • Veronica Lascurain
  • Gerardo Sanchez

Paseo del Este Municipal Utility District No. 10 Board of Directors

  • Ysrael Valencia
  • Luis Ortega
  • Antonio Gallardo

Town of Anthony


  • Benjamin Romero, Jr.

Alderman Place No. 1

  • Fernando Ramirez
  • Jose Garcia

Alderman Place No. 2

  • Shawn Weeks

Town of Horizon City

Alderman Place No. 1

  • Matthew Gardea
  • Walter L. Miller

Alderman Place No. 2

  • Scott Quiroz

Alderman Place No. 4

  • Andres “Andy” Renteria

Alderman Place No. 6

  • Rafael “Ralph” Padilla, Jr.

Proposition A

The reauthorization of the local sales and use tax in the Town of Horizon City, Texas, at the rate of one-fourth (1/4) of one percent (1%) to continue providing revenue for the maintenance and repair of municipal streets.

El Paso County Emergency Services District No. 1

Proposition A

The adoption of a local sales and use tax in El Paso County Emergency Services District No. 1 at a rate not to exceed one and one-half percent (1.5%) in any location in the district.

There are 217,404 registered voters eligible for this election. A total of 4,870 people voted during the early election period from April 19 to April 27.

For more information — such as to check if you’re registered, where to vote and what you need to vote — visit

For local and breaking news, weather alerts, video and more, download the FREE KTSM 9 News App from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.