EL PASO, Texas (KTSM) – Brian Kennedy emerged from a crowded field to win the El Paso City Council seat previously held by Peter Svarzbein.

According to unofficial final results from Saturday’s runoff, Kennedy defeated Analisa Cordova Silverstein with roughly 70 percent of the vote to 30 percent. Kennedy tallied 2,971 votes vs. 1,300 for Silverstein, according to the final update of votes released by the El Paso County Elections Department shortly before 10 p.m. Saturday.

In District 6, state Rep. Art Fierro is the unofficial winner with 1,356 votes or 56.57 percent vs. 1,041 votes or 43.43 percent for incumbent Claudia Lizette Rodriguez.  

In District 8, Chris Canales is the unofficial winner in a battle of City Hall staffers. Canales has an unofficial total of 1,529 votes or 63.39 percent to 883 votes or 36.61 percent for Bettina Olivares.