Incumbents Svarzbein, Lizarraga win runoff election


Incumbents Peter Svarzbein and Cissy Lizarraga will keep their seats on El Paso City Council, Saturday’s runoff election results reveal.

For District 1, which covers parts of West El Paso and the Upper Valley, Svarzbein defeated Veronica Frescas 63 to 36 percent.

As for District 8, which includes South, Downtown, and parts of West El Paso, Lizarraga captured 62 percent of the vote compared to Nicholas Vasquez’s 37 percent.

A total of 4,403 votes were cast in the District 1 race, compared to 1,779 in District 8.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

KTSM Video Center

Jefferson students plant trees for Aug. 3 victims

Health officials identify three cases of COVID-19 Delta variant in El Paso, over 1 million vaccines administered

Local clothing company designed Amazon’s Blue Origin space jumpsuits

9News Movie Reviews: Jungle Cruise

El Chuco Inspirations: San Elizario printmaker resembles agricultural roots in his art

9 On 9: Dr. Harold K. Smith, new El Paso neurosurgeon

More El Paso News
Advertise with KTSM 9 Link