El Paso Rhinos win second straight Thorne Cup


The El Paso Rhinos defeated the Ogden Mustangs 2-0 on Saturday night in Ogden, Utah to clinch their second consecutive Thorne Cup championship.

The Rhinos scored late in the second period to break a scoreless tie, and added to the lead in the final period. The championship is not only El Paso’s second straight title, it’s their third since 2014.

The Rhinos won their first Thorne Cup in 2008. 

The team will host a celebration party on Tuesday, April 16 at 6 p.m. at the El Paso County Coliseum Events Center. Fans are welcome to join the players, coaches, and staff to celebrate the Rhinos’ big win. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Advertise with KTSM 9 Link

Local Sports

More Local Sports