National WWII Museum honors Mayfield High student

Las Cruces News

Mayfield High School student Zachary Chadwick was recently named a 2019 Billy Michal Student Leadership Award recipient from the National WWII Museum in New Orleans. 

The national honor is awarded annually to one student in each state who has maintained a strong record of volunteerism, demonstrates school and community activism, and helps implement creative solutions to recognized problems. Chadwick will be flown to New Orleans to participate in the Museum’s American Spirit Awards program on May 22-23, 2019.

Chadwick has been involved in Mayfield’s National Honor Society and Student Government throughout his high school years. He has volunteered in the community including at nursing homes and community clean-ups. He currently serves as a board member at El Caldito Soup Kitchen where he has also volunteered for the last four years. He also serves as the volunteer coordinator for his class at Mayfield. 

The Billy Michal Student Leadership Award was first presented in 2017 and is named after Billy Michal, who was a child living in Louisiana during WWII. At six years old, Michal helped his one-room school win a statewide scrap paper-collection contest, proving that every citizen could contribute to victory in WWII. 

“It’s extremely gratifying to recognize students throughout the nation for the wonderful contributions they make to their local communities,” said Stephen J. Watson, President & CEO at The National WWII Museum. “During World War II, our country needed everyone to come together for a common goal of securing freedom and democracy around the world. Much like Billy Michal’s contribution over 70 years ago, our student honorees prove that their positive actions, no matter how big or small, can make a difference in their communities. We are proud to honor their accomplishments.

The American Spirit Awards is a multiday event in New Orleans consisting of a reception, gala, awards luncheon and leadership forum. The 2019 American Spirit Award honorees include Vice President Dick Chey and Senator Joseph Lieberman. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

KTSM Video Center

Del Valle tops El Dorado

9OT: Hanks vs Ysleta

9OT: El Paso vs Andress

9OT: Jefferson vs Austin

9OT: Football trainers in COVID

9OT: Senior Showcase

More El Paso News
Advertise with KTSM 9 Link