Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office announces changes to early voting and in-person voting during 2020 Primary Election

Las Cruces News

LAS CRUCES, New Mexico (KTSM) – The Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office has announced changes to early voting and in-person voting for the 2020 Primary Election due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office said it is establishing precautionary procedures for voters who will be voting during the 2020 Primary Election.

Early in-person voting begins on May 5th at the Doña Ana County Government Center.

It will continue Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., and on Saturday, May 30th from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Officials said that in an effort to maintain social distancing standards at voter convenience centers, only a limited number of voters will be permitted in the voting room at any given time.

Voters are asked to remain at least six feet apart while waiting to vote and are encouraged to wear masks while voting in person.

Early voting will also be available May 16th through May 30th, Tuesday through Saturday, 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., at the following alternate locations:

  • Anthony City Hall – 820 Highway 478 Anthony NM 88021
  • Delores C Wright Educational Center – 400 E Lisa Dr, Chaparral, NM 88081
  • Hatch High School – 170 E Herrera Rd, Hatch, NM 87937
  • Doña Ana Community College: Sunland Park – 3365 McNutt Rd., Sunland Park, NM 88063
  • Sonoma Elementary School – 4201 Northrise St., Las Cruces, NM 88011
  • Las Cruces City Hall – 700 N Main St, Las Cruces, NM 88001
  • NMSU Corbett Center – 1600 International Mall, Las Cruces, NM 88003

The Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office said that it continues to encourage voters to vote via absentee ballot in the 2020 Primary.

Election administrators said they believe it is the safest way to vote during the public health emergency.

“In New Mexico, we have a no-fault absentee ballot process, meaning that any eligible voter can securely request and vote via an absentee ballot. We will encourage voters to utilize that process should they have concerns about in-person voting during this year’s elections,” said Clerk Amanda López Askin.

Beginning May 5th, absentee ballots will be mailed to voters who have requested them and whose applications have been approved.

Absentee applications are available online at, and the deadline to submit an application is May 28th.

Voters who wish to vote via absentee ballot can return their absentee ballots via postal mail, at any polling location, or at the Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office.

Pursuant to the New Mexico Election Code, caregivers and immediate family members may also return an absentee ballot on behalf of a voter, but only at the Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office, officials said.

The deadline to return absentee ballots is June 2, 2020, at 7:00 pm.

For more information about the 2020 Primary Election visit:

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

KTSM Video Center

Reward now offered for information in deadly hit-and-run crash in Las Cruces

Authorities discover body of husband accused of shooting and killing wife at West El Paso home

EPPD searching for suspects involved in south-central El Paso shooting

Pregnancy during pandemic resources

Irvin High School student tests positive for COVID-19, EPISD officials say

Services begin for children killed in Northeast El Paso crash

More El Paso News
Advertise with KTSM 9 Link