UTEP held their annual Media Day Penalty Kick Challenge, and NewsChannel9’s Gustavo Aguirre,  Beau Bagley, Faran Fronczak, Andy Morgan, and Cesar Ruiz won first place against other area media teams.

NewsChannel9’s penalty kick team – “The Niners” – took home several other awards as well.
Producer Gustavo Aguirre won the “Golden Boot” award for scoring the game winning shot, and Weekend Sports Anchor Andy Morgan won “Best Celebration Dance” with “The Mic Drop!”