EPISD decides the fate of four El Paso schools

El Paso News

The El Paso Independent School District board of trustees decided to close Beall, Burleson, Alta Vista and Schuster elementary schools before the start of the 2019-20 year.

The decision came after the board’s Tuesday night meeting. 

The district had recommended different options for Beall or Douglass, Burleson, Alta Vista and Schuster Elementary Schools.

The closures were targetted for the beginning of the 2019-2020 season.

Parents had spoken against the closures in individual meetings leading up to Tuesday night’s decision. 

District officials had said the goal is to have the right amount of students at every campus. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.