Aaron Jones Bobbleheads To Be Given Away at October 28 Game

El Paso News

UTEP will celebrate “Legends Night” in the Sun Bowl October 28 by giving away Aaron Jones bobbleheads.

1,000 lucky fans will receive the free bobblehead of the Green Bay Packers rookie sensation and the Miners’ all-time leading rusher. In order to get a bobblehead, fans will have to look for a special sticker in their complimentary game day program. Fans with the sticker on page 29 of the program will need to go to the North side of the Sun Bowl to pick up their bobblehead. Programs will be limited to one per fan, with no exchanges.

Jones earned third team All-American honors by the Associated Press following a 2016 season that saw him shatter UTEP records for rushing yards in a season (1,773) and a career (4,114).  He was recently named the NFL Rookie of the Week after rushing for 125 yards versus the Dallas Cowboys in his first career start as a pro.


The Miners will also honor five more legends — 2017 Athletics Hall of Fame inductees Antonio Davis, Seth Joyner, Blessing Okagbare, Cynthia Ruelas and Paul Stankowski — at the UTSA game.  Davis, who played basketball at UTEP from 1986-90, spent 13 seasons in the NBA and was a 2001 NBA All-Star.  Joyner, a member of the Miner football team from 1982-85, was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year by Sports Illustrated in 1991.  Okagbare spent the 2008, 2009 and 2010 seasons on the UTEP track and field team and was NCAA champion in the long jump and 100 meters.  Ruelas starred on the Miner volleyball squad from 1993-97.  Stankowski, who played on the UTEP golf team from 1987-91, was the 1990 Western Athletic Conference champion before enjoying a long career on the PGA Tour.


Tickets to the UTEP-UTSA football game start at just $10 and are available by calling (915) 747-5234.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Advertise with KTSM 9 Link