Early voting ends, election for EPISD school board seat Saturday


EL PASO, Texas (KTSM) – Early voting is over in the June 5 election and soon, the El Paso Independent School District will have a new school board trustee.

District 5 candidates Vanessa Betts and Israel Irrobali are in a competition for the school board seat. The winner will replace Chuck Taylor, who did not file for reelection. Taylor has also endorsed Betts.

El Paso County Elections Department data shows a little more than 3.5 percent of eligible voters in the election participated in early voting. There are 31,687 registered voters in EPISD’s District 5 and 1,133 voted during the early voting period.

Election day is Saturday and polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

For information on where to vote, visit the El Paso County Elections Department’s website.

For local and breaking news, sports, weather alerts, video and more, download the FREE KTSM 9 News App from the Apple App Store or the Google Play Store.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

KTSM Video Center

Name of fallen police officer yet to be added to overpass dedicated in his memory

El Pasoans celebrate water lantern festival

Juneteenth in El Paso

Families unable to cross the border embrace across the Rio Grande during Hugs Not Walls event

KTSM 9 News

Fort Bliss soldier found guilty, sentenced in court-martial

More El Paso News
Advertise with KTSM 9 Link