49th annual Southwest Book Award winners, Border Region Library


EL PASO, Texas (KTSM) – The Border Region Library has announced its 49th annual Southwest Book Award winners.

These awards have been presented since 1971 in recognition of outstanding books written about the Southwest.

This year’s winners of the Southwest Book Awards are:

  • A Bad Peace and a Good War: Spain and the Mescalero Apache Uprising of 1975-1799, by Mark Santiago. University of Oklahoma Press, 2018.
  • The Crossroads, by Alexandra Diaz. Simon & Schuster / Paula Wiseman Books, 2018.
  • Cutting the Wire: Photographs and Poetry from the U.S. – Mexico Border, edited by Lisa McNiel, photographs by Bruce Berman, poetry by Ray Gonzalez & Lawrence Welsh, introduction by David Dorado Romo. University of New Mexico Press, 2018.
  • D, by Ruben Moreno Valenzuela. Universidad Autonoma de Ciudad Juarez, 2019.
  • Hey Marfa, by Jeffrey Yang. Graywolf Press, 2018.
  • Medicine Women: The Story of the First Native American Nursing School, by Jim Kristofic. University of New Mexico Press, 2019.
  • Mesquite: An Arboreal Love Affair, by Gary Paul Nabhan. Chelsea Green Publishing, 2018.
  • Nobody Hugs a Cactus, by Carter Goodrich. Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2019.
  • Retablos: Stories from a Life Lived Along the Border, by Octavio Solis. City Light Books, 2018.
  • A song for the River, by Philip Connors. Cinco Puntos Press, 2018.

According to the Border Region Library Association, the eligibility for this year’s Southwest Bok Awards was based on the following criteria:

  1. About the Southwest, defined as West Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and northern Mexico.
  2. Appearing in book or nonprint format for the first time.
  3. Published between Aug. 1, 2018, and Jul. 31, 2019.
  4. Og high quality, both in the context of the current year’s entries and in the existing body of Southwestern literature.
  5. Books that reflect and interpret the Southwest. A scholarly work must make a well-documented contribution to scholarship in some aspect of Southwestern history or culture. Other notification works should make reliable information accessible to the general leader. Poetry and fiction must reflect Southwestern culture and/or be set in the Southwest.

The Southwest Book Awards will be presented at Ardovino’s Desert Crossing on Saturday, Feb. 22 starting at 6 p.m.

Nominations for librarian of the year and library staff person of the year are open until Feb. 3, 2020.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

KTSM Video Center

El Paso patients may voluntarily be flown to other Texas hospitals as local hospitals deal with increase of COVID patients

UTEP falls to Charlotte 38-28

Up to 3-hour wait reported on Friday at newest El Paso COVID-19 test site

Man suspected of shutting off medical clinic's electricity, destroying $41,000 worth of vaccines

Fred Loya Light Show canceled due to safety concerns

National Take Back Day DEA Tip of the Week

More El Paso News
Advertise with KTSM 9 Link