Supermoon happens Sunday night

Supermoon happens Sunday night
MGN Online
Weather Talk

POSTED: Saturday, August 9, 2014 - 2:45pm

UPDATED: Saturday, August 9, 2014 - 3:14pm

Mother Nature is giving us plenty of opportunities this year to catch glimpses of some of it's extraordinary phenomena.

That's right, part two of this summer's season of super moons is happening this Sunday.\

The full moons of this summer, which fall on July 12, August 10 and September 9, are all super moons, according to NASA.

The super moon occurs when the moon becomes full on the same days as its perigee.

A perigee is when thee moon's orbit when is closest to Earth.

The closest the moon can come to the earth is about 221,439 miles. During apogee, or when the moon is furthest from the earth it's about 252,724 miles.

Unfortunately, for us, this time around it may be a little difficult to get a straight view of it due to the cloud cover we are expecting Sunday. Here are the times you stargazers can try to pinpoint the moon.

At United States’ time zones, the moon will turn full on August 10 at 2:09 p.m. EDT, 1:09 p.m. CDT, 12:09 p.m. MDT and 11:09 a.m. PDT.

The moon will continue to look bright and full Sunday evening, leading into Monday early morning.

The super moon of August is one of the largest and brightest full moons of the year. The U.S. Naval Observatory says the moon will be 12% bigger and 30% brighter than it was in January 2014.

And again, the reason being that the moon is approaching it's perigee.

The Super moon isn't the only astronomical phenomenon to look out for.

Days after the super moon, people can also watch the annual Perseids meteor shower, which peaks on August 13.

The bad news is, stargazers might have a hard time spotting the meteor shower.

At this point, our skies will be clearing out, meaning we will continue to see our big bright moon, but the moon's light will wash out all but the brightest of Perseids' meteors, according to the International Meteor Organization.

Did you know: Full moons occur near perigee approximately every 13 months? This means, full moons like this upcoming one are not that uncommon, according to NASA.

Bottom line: This rainy season is going to wash out our chances of getting a clear view of this month's super moon, hopefully Mother Nature will be a little kinder on September 9, for the last part of this super moon trilogy.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment