World Cup

U.S. men's team to face Nigeria in World Cup tuneup

U.S. men's team to face Nigeria in World Cup tuneup
World Cup

POSTED: Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 2:10pm

UPDATED: Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 9:11am

The U.S. Men's National Team has generated some momentum with back-to-back victories during its Send-Off Series preceding the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The USA looks to cap things off with one more victory when it hosts Nigeria at 6 p.m. ET on Saturday, June 7, at EverBank Field in Jacksonville, Florida. The game will be broadcast on ESPN, WatchESPN, Univision and ESPN Deportes Radio. Fans can also follow live on Twitter @ussoccer.

This Send-Off Series finale provides the USA with a match against a fellow 2014 FIFA World Cup participant as Nigeria is paired with Argentina, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iran in Group F.

Most recently in the Send-Off Series, the U.S. defeated Turkey for a 2-1 win on June 1 at Red Bull Arena, with Fabian Johnson scoring his first international goal and Clint Dempsey tallying the game-winner for the 37th of his career. Earlier, the USA shut out Azerbaijan 2-0 on May 27 at Candlestick Park in San Francisco.

On May 22, USA head coach Jurgen Klinsmann announced the 23 players who would be headed to this summer's World Cup in Brazil. The U.S. MNT opens the tournament against Ghana in Group G play on June 16 at Estadio das Dunas in Natal.

U.S. Men's National Team By Position - Detailed Roster
GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment