UTEP coach finishes second at Sun Country PGA Championship

UTEP coach finishes second at Sun Country PGA Championship

POSTED: Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 7:41pm

UPDATED: Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 8:00pm

David Muttitt of Albuquerque, N.M., winner of the Sun Country PGA Professional Championship, August 27 at Sandia Golf Club will lead five Section PGA Professionals to compete in the 47th PGA Professional National Championship, June 22-25, 2014, at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club and the Grande Dunes Resort Club in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

The Paa-ko Ridge Golf Club assistant professional, started the day six shots behind, but managed to rapidly cut the gap turning in a winning total of nine-under-par 207 to capture the Sun Country PGA Professional Champion title. Scott Lieberwirth of El Paso, Texas was runner-up, finishing at six-under par.

Fresh off a tie for ninth in the 2013 PGA Professional Championship and an appearance in the 2013 PGA Championship at Oak Hill, Muttitt claimed his second consecutive Sun Country PGA Championship Tuesday at Sandia and will cash in on his exemption to the 2014 National Championship. Joining him at the 2014 PNC as the SCSPGA qualifiers will be Lieberwirth, and Bill Harvey and Steve Manning of Albuquerque, N.M. Farmington’s Jeff Roth also has a free ticket to the National Championship if he chooses to accept it by virtue of his lifetime exemption courtesy of his 1993 victory at the PGA PNC.

Exemptions, Qualifiers & Alternates:
1 David Muttitt, Albuquerque, N.M. 68-71-68--207 -9 Exempt
2 Scott Lieberwirth, El Paso, Texas 68-72-70--210 -6 Qualifier
T3 Jeff Roth, Farmington, N.M. 71-68-74--213 -3 Exempt
T3 Bill Harvey, Albuquerque, N.M. 66-68-79--213 -3 Qualifier
T5 Daniel Koesters, Las Cruces, N.M. 69-74-72--215 -1 Qualifier
T5 Steve Manning, Albuquerque, N.M. 66-70-79--215 -1 Qualifier
7 Anthony Romero, Capitan, N.M. 72-75-69--216 E 1st Alternate
T8 Jeffrey Olisar, Albuquerque, N.M. 73-75-69--217 +1 2nd Alternate
T8 Dominic Curran, Silver City, N.M. 69-71-77--217 +1 3rd Alternate

Returning for a second time to South Carolina, the PGA Professional National Championship brings together a field of 312 contestants representing The PGA of America’s 41 nationwide Sections. In 2014, the National Championship field will compete at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club and Grande Dunes Resort Club in Myrtle Beach.

The PGA Professional National Championship, carrying a $550,000 total purse this year, is broadcast (all four rounds) by GOLF CHANNEL. Following 36 holes of play, the field will be trimmed to the low 70 scorers and ties.

The low 20 scorers in 2014 will earn berths into the 96th PGA Championship, Aug. 7-10, 2014, at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky.

In addition to the Walter Hagen Cup, the PGA Professional National Championship winner also receives an exemption into the next 10 PGA Professional National Championships and exemptions into six PGA Tour events over a 12-month period.

Established in 1968, The PGA Professional National Championship roster of Champions includes past and present Tour professionals: Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Don Massengale, Ed Dougherty, Larry Gilbert, and Bruce Fleisher.

The PGA Professional National Championship is presented by Club Car, Mercedes-Benz, and OMEGA. Supporting sponsors are Titleist/FootJoy, Nike Golf, TaylorMade-adidas and Ashworth Golf, and the PGA TOUR. GOLF CHANNEL is the official media partner. The 41 Section Championships and the National Championship offer a combined purse of $1.5 million.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment