UTEP Women face Rice on Senior Day

UTEP Women face Rice on Senior Day
Saturday, February 25, 2012 - 8:08pm

UTEP will look to send out its seven seniors in style when it plays host to Rice in the annual “Senior Day” game at 2:05 p.m. MST Sunday. The Miners (25-2, 14-0 C-USA), who clinched the 2012 Conference USA regular-season championship with a 68-51 victory against SMU on Feb. 23, have won 15 straight contests overall. The Owls (14-13, 8-6 C-USA) are rolling as well, with a 68-40 triumph against Houston on Feb. 23, serving as their third victory in the past four tilts. The game will be streamed on MinerTV (subscription required) & fans can also get updates by following the Miners on Twitter (@UTEPWBB).

UTEP will honor its seven seniors (Gloria Brown, Baiba Eglite, Briana Green, Whitney Houston, Melisa Mendes, Kim Smith & Erika Warren) the largest class in program history, in a pre-game ceremony. There will also be a post-game video. This year’s class has helped the Miners win their second league title in school history, while compiling a 25-2 record to date.

UTEP is the 2012 Conference USA regular-season champion, which marks the second league title (2007-08 other) in program history. The Miners will be the No. 1 seed in the upcoming C-USA Tournament (March 7-10), and will be one of a quartet of squads with a first-round bye.

Thanks to claiming the 2012 C-USA crown, UTEP is assured of playing postseason basketball this year. If the Miners do not qualify for the NCAA Tournament, they will earn an automatic bid to the WNIT due to claiming the C-USA crown. It will be the second appearance all time in a postseason tournament. The Miners earned an at-large bid to the Big Dance in 2008, and advanced to the second round.

UTEP’s 25 wins places it tied for the fourth most in the country (through all games on Friday, Feb. 24). Additionally it ranks as the second-most triumphs in school history (28) while rating tied for 12th in C-USA annals. The league standard is also 28, which has been achieved twice. UTEP was the first team to do so (28-4, 2007-08).

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment