UTEP Athletics Announces Flo Hyman Award Winners

UTEP Athletics Announces Flo Hyman Award Winners
Thursday, February 23, 2012 - 3:12pm

In conjunction with the week-long National Girls & Women In Sports Day Celebration, UTEP Athletics has revealed the winners for this year’s Flo Hyman Award. They are Catalina Crosse (Lancaster Elementary School), Briana Sepulveda (Socorro Middle School) and Alejandra Flores (Del Valle High School).

The trio will be honored at halftime of the UTEP women’s basketball team’s game against SMU on Thursday, along with the keynote speaker for the banquet in the form of legendary basketball pioneer Ann Meyers Drysdale. There is free admission to the contest, which tips off at 7:05 p.m. MST.

Crosse has received her school’s All-Around Athlete Award for the past three years. She has never missed a day of school, performs a lot of community service, and is a member of the student council, year book editorial staff, chess club, school band and choir.

Sepulveda was the volleyball team’s MVP and started on the basketball team. She serves as the National Jr. Honor Society President and is a positive influence and role model. She is an active member of her church and volunteers at many community sponsored functions.

Flores helped her volleyball team go undefeated in district and aided the basketball squad make the playoffs. She is a member of the National Honor Society and student council, who is in the top-10 percent of her class. Flores is a hard-working individual who makes sacrifices for others, and has learned the value of hard work through her parents.

Meyers Drysdale was enshrined into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1993. She was a four-time Kodak All-American at UCLA, who led the Bruins to a national championship and upon graduation held 12 of the 13 school records. She would go on to represent the United States on the international level, and earned a silver medal as part of the first US Olympic Basketball team at the Montreal Games in 1976.

She remains the only female to have signed a free-agent contract with an NBA team, who later evolved into a standout broadcaster. Her broadcasting resume includes the 1984, 2000, 2004 & 2008 Summer Olympics. . Her incredible sports journalism contributions were honored as the 2006 winner of the United States Sports Academy's (USSA) Ronald Reagan Media Award, joining an elite group of winners that includes Howard Cosell, Bob Costas, Keith Jackson, Frank Deford and Rupert Murdoch.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment