Seals End Rhinos Thorne Cup Run with 7-2 Semifinal Win

Seals End Rhinos Thorne Cup Run with 7-2 Semifinal Win
Saturday, March 30, 2013 - 6:58pm

Joshua Mikes notched a hat trick, goalie Filip Orcik stopped 45 of 47 El Paso shots and the Bay Area Seals avenged a first-round loss to the Rhinos with a 7-2 win, vaulting the Seals into the Thorne Cup Finals Easter Sunday in McCall, ID.

Though El Paso outshot Bay Area, 47-27, the Rhinos could not find the net, while the Seals found it plenty after trailing early in the game.

El Paso defenseman Chris Wilhite struck first for the second-seeded Rhinos, depositing a feed from Chad Cesarz past Orcik at 9:48 of the opening period.

But that would be all for El Paso until the third period as Orcik put his team on his back until the Seals' offense found its stride.

Found it, they did, beginning in the second period. Ladislav Hruska beat Rhinos' goalie Alex Palumbo 1:29 into the frame, followed by Martin Vachal just 15 seconds later, giving Bay Area a lead it would not relinquish.

Mikes notched his first -- and the game-winning goal -- at 17:12 of the second.

Two more quick goals at the beginning of the third all but doomed El Paso, as Nick Anderson and Mikes combined to score twice in 16 seconds, at 3:14 and 3:30, respectively. Mikes' goal chased Palumbo from the net as head coach Cory Herman was seeking any spark to light a fire under his team.

John Morales finished as the Rhinos' top scorer in the post-season with his team-best seventh goal of the playoffs at 13:05. Morales also had five assists for a team-high 12 points.

But with his team trailing by four and in desperate need for an offensive spark, head coach Cory Herman had to pull goalie Kiefer Giroux. Mark DeVaughn scored the empty net goal for the Seals at 16:52 to stop the rally, and Mikes added one for good measure, notching his hat trick at 19:11.

The loss ends El Paso's Thorne Cup dreams short of its goal of a championship, which would be the team's second title all-time.

The Rhinos have lifted the Thorne Cup only once, in 2008.

For officials statistics, follow the link provided by

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment