Miners Rifle earns Postseason Accolades

Miners Rifle earns Postseason Accolades
Monday, March 12, 2012 - 12:10pm

The Collegiate Rifles Coaches Association announced George Brenzovich as the NCAA Rifle Coach of the Year for the 2012 campaign. The Miners made it to the NCAA Championships as a team for the first time since 2005. UTEP came in fifth in the championships.

The National Rifle Association announced several Miners as All-American’s over the weekend.

Andrea Palafox was named first team air rifle All-American and Alix Moncada was named to second team. Freshman Jennifer Armendariz received honorable mention.

Andrea Vautrin earned second team accolades for smallbore. Palafox received honorable mention.

Palafox was also honored for being a four year All-American. She became only the second player in UTEP history to achieve such a feat.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment