Madigan Leads Conference Tourney

Monday, May 3, 2010 - 5:39pm

Junior Tim Madigan led New Mexico Sate in the opening round of the conference golf championship, tying the Rio Secco course record of 8-under par, 64, as NM State carded a 5-under par, 283 in round one of the 2010 Men’s Golf WAC Championship. The Aggies are currently in second-place as a team. Three NM State golfers were even or under par on day one.


“I’m very pleased with the way we started the tournament,” head coach Scott Lieberwirth said. “We talked last night as a team about how we wanted to start this tournament off and I would say mission accomplished. We had some good play and some rough spots coming in but we had three birdies on the 18th hole and that was really huge to end the day with some confidence.”


Madigan carded nine birdies on the day to tie the course record, a record he now shares with Tiger Woods, Nick Watney, Tom Pernice and John Passmore. He is currently in first-place for the tournament.


“I don’t really know what happened out there today,” Madigan said. “It was like the ball had eyes. No matter where I hit it from it was just going in. I had a few good breaks and my putter was on fire. It was a special round of golf.”


Freshman Justin Shin fired a 1-under par, 71 in round one. He recorded six birdies on the day, three on each nine. Shin is tied for ninth overall. Sophomore Gaston De La Torre shot even-par, 72, with four birdies on the scorecard. De La Torre is tied for 13th overall after the first round of play.


Senior Ryan Word went 4-over par, 76 in round one, recording four birdies, tying him for 30th overall. Freshman Justin Knauber rounded out the Aggie competitors with a 6-over par, 78. Knauber had one birdie on his scorecard, as he sits in a tie for 39th place after round one.


Nevada leads the team competition at 8-under par, followed by NM State (-5), Fresno State (-2), San Jose State (-1), Idaho (+2), Louisiana Tech (+6), Utah State (+11), Boise State (+13) and Hawai’i (+14).


Tee times for the second round of 2010 Men’s Golf WAC Championship will begin at 7:30 a.m., Tuesday morning.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment