Han, Burke Lead El Paso Boxing Hall of Fame Nominees

Han, Burke Lead El Paso Boxing Hall of Fame Nominees
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - 3:45pm

The El Paso Boxing and Martial Arts Hall of Fame Announced their 2012 Press Conference
“ Meet & Greet”, which is open to the public.

The Inductee’s & Award Winners
Saturday, May 12th, 2012
Jaxon’s Restaurant & Brewery
1150 Airway Blvd.
2 -4 P.M.

Our inductees are: Jennifer Han, Benny Benavides, Bill Knight, Rocky Burke, Francisco Alvarado, James Butler, Master Bae H. Han, Louie Burke, Rene Herrera, Tim Meek, Sammy Burek (Legends Award), and Cliff ‘Magic ‘Thomas (Legends award). Outstanding performances of 2011 include WBA World Light Middleweight Champion, Austin Trout. Austin and Louie Burke are our guest speakers for the banquet.

The 'Meet & Greet' is open to all. The Hans will make a short appearance as Jennifer and Abie may be on the June 16th, 2012 fight card at UTEP. Cliff 'Magic' Thomas is in Ft. Worth but will be here for the June 9th induction ceremony. Austin Trout and the Burkes are into heavy training.

Rocky is a premiere referee and judge and is likely to attend. Jorge Munoz, a 2 time national champion, should be on hand.  Rene Herrera and most of the locals will likely attend, including Master Meek and Master Benavides. Bill Knight, an inductee, will be there. Francisco 'Panchito' Alvarado is not sure of attending, while Master Meek said he will bring his state champion son, Timothy, if he is available. Master Han has a busy schedule on Saturday but may make a brief appearance.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment