Breaking News

Thursday, March 5, 2015 - 4:42pm

Freshman QB Hall Gets 1st Start Saturday


POSTED: Friday, September 16, 2011 - 10:22pm

UPDATED: Friday, September 16, 2011 - 10:36pm

UTEP (1-1, 0-1) will take on I-10 rival NM State (1-1) in the SONIC®, America’s Drive-In® Battle of I-10 series at Aggie Memorial Stadium in Las Cruces. Kickoff is slated for 6 p.m. MDT. The rivalry game marks the 89th meeting between the two teams, the longest-running series in UTEP’s history. The winner receives a pair of traveling trophies, the silver spade and the brass spittoon.

The Battle of I-10 series sponsored by SONIC®, is in its second year of the rivalry sponsorship and covers every UTEP-NM State football, men’s and women’s basketball. Fans can vote for their favorite team via each school’s website.

Series History
The Miners hold a 51-35-2 advantage in the series, but are 16-19-1 in the City of the Crosses. The Miners are 2-1 in Las Cruces during the Mike Price Era and are 5-2 all-time under Price. UTEP will be looking to win consecutive road games in the series for the first time since a four-contest streak which spanned from 1986-91. The Miners’ last win at Aggie Memorial came on Sept. 19, 2009 in a 38-12 victory, despite a three-hour rain/lightning delay.

The Last Time
Trevor Vittatoe threw five touchdown passes in UTEP’s 42-10 rout of NM State in the Sun Bowl on Sept. 18, 2010. Vittatoe completed 19-of-30 passes for 246 yards and compiled 54 yards rushing for the Miners. The Miners recorded 495 yards of total offense - 249 rushing and 246 passing - and scored 21 points in the third quarter. The Aggies’ Matt Christan completed 21-of-40 passes for 200 yards as NM State registered 296 yards of total offense.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment