Field Set for 2012 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic

Field Set for 2012 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic
Monday, November 12, 2012 - 2:56pm

Twenty-three of the nation’s top collegiate golfers will make their way to El Paso when they take part in the 2012 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic on Nov. 18-20 at the El Paso Country Club.

“Western Refining is proud to team with the Sun Bowl Association in welcoming the nation’s finest college golfers to El Paso,” said Jeff Stevens, Western Refining CEO. “It is an honor to host one of the most prestigious college golf tournaments in the country. The quality of this year’s field is a testament to the hospitality of El Paso and the reputation of this event.”

The field includes 16 of the top 100 amateur golfers in the world, according to the R&A World Amateur Golf Rankings including second-ranked Justin Thomas (Alabama) and the 2012 NCAA Individual Champion, Thomas Pieters (Illinois).

Throughout the years, many Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in the Professional Golfers’ Association of America and on the PGA Tour. Some of the past champions include Webb Simpson (2007), Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay (1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III (1984), Chris Nallen (2003), Jerry Pate (1974), Nicholas Thompson (2004) and Tiger Woods (1995).

Alumni of the Golf Classic have gone on to earn more than $1.5 billion and win 589 events on the PGA Tour. In all, 144 colleges and universities have participated in the tournament, raising almost $700,000 in scholarship money for the participating institutions.

Each university represented by the Western Refining College All-Americans will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

Following is a schedule of events (times are MST):

Sunday, Nov. 18
Titleist Long Drive Contest (9 a.m.)
PING Putting Contest (10 a.m.)
Practice round (noon)

Monday, Nov. 19
First and second rounds, 36 holes (8 a.m.)

Tuesday, Nov. 20
Final round, 18 holes (8 a.m.)
Trophy presentation (following final round, approximately 1 p.m.)

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment