80th edition of the Hyundai Sun Bowl set for New Years Eve

80th edition of the Hyundai Sun Bowl set for New Years Eve
Friday, May 17, 2013 - 11:02am

The Sun Bowl Association has announced that the 2013 Hyundai Sun Bowl game will be played Tuesday, Dec. 31, at 12 p.m. MT (2 p.m. ET) at Sun Bowl Stadium.

The 2013 game will mark the 80th anniversary of the Sun Bowl game and the 46th consecutive broadcast on CBS. The game features selections from the ACC and Pac-12 conferences.

“We are excited to announce the date and time for the 80th edition of the Hyundai Sun Bowl,” said Walker Crowson, Sun Bowl Association President. “We have always heard positive feedback about playing the game on New Year’s Eve. Our goal is to make the game as accessible as possible for all football fans in El Paso to attend. It’s the seventh-straight year we hold it at noon on the 31st and we can’t think of a better way to start the New Year’s Eve celebrations.”

The Hyundai Sun Bowl has been played on a Tuesday eight other times in the history of the game, including the inaugural match in 1935. The last time El Paso gathered at the Sun Bowl for a Tuesday bowl game, 48,917 fans witnessed Purdue quarterback Kyle Orton set bowl records in passing attempts (74) and completions (38) in a 34-24 defeat over Washington.
The Hyundai Sun Bowl is the second-oldest bowl game in the nation, along with the Orange and Sugar Bowls, behind the Rose Bowl.

Tickets for the 2013 Hyundai Sun Bowl are $17, $22, $32, $42, $52 and $62 and will go on sale at a later date.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment