2010 El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees


POSTED: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 1:12pm

UPDATED: Thursday, September 16, 2010 - 9:45pm

El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame elects five inductees for the class of 2010

Floyd “Butch” Henry – A standout pitcher at Eastwood HS; 13 seasons of professional baseball from 1987 to 2001; played seven seasons in the major leagues with Houston, Colorado, Montreal, Boston, and Seattle; and currently the manager of the El Paso Diablos.

Joey Pennies – All District outfielder at Coronado HS; 4-year letterman for UTEP baseball; played and coached in Italy; head baseball coach at Parkland HS and Austin HS for 10 ½ years.

Shawn Lehigh – Umpired for 22 years at the high school, military, collegiate, and professional levels in El Paso; served as the Sports Director/General Manager at Champions Sportsplex for 16 years.

Frank Del Toro – All district at Jefferson HS; played collegiately at Ranger, UTEP, and New Mexico Highlands; played for Juarez of the Mexican League in 1975; baseball coach at various El Paso schools from 1976 to 2001; head coach at Austin and Americas High schools.

Gilbert De La Rosa – Umpired for 37 years at the youth, high school, and collegiate levels in El Paso; umpired in high school state playoffs for 27 years and at the UIL state tournament in 2000, 2001, and 2010; also a member of the Texas Association of Sports Officials during this same period.

The annual Induction and Awards Banquet will be held on October 26, 2010 at the Lancers Trawood, 3135 Trawood Drive. The festivities will begin at 6:00 pm.

To purchase tickets for the banquet, please call Bob Osborne at (915) 598-7211 or any Board member. For additional information, go to the El Paso Baseball Hall of Fame website:


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment