Breaking News

Wednesday, December 17, 2014 - 8:39pm

UTEP Announces New Interim Dean of the Graduate School

UTEP Announces New Interim Dean of the Graduate School

POSTED: Thursday, August 26, 2010 - 9:32am

UPDATED: Thursday, August 26, 2010 - 11:35am

Beginning Wednesday, the University of Texas at El Paso will have a new Interim Dean of the Graduate School.

The position will be assumed by Benjamin C. Flores, Ph.D., who is currently a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Associate Dean of the Graduate School. Dr. Flores has been with UTEP since 1990 and has held several administrative positions including Chair of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department and Interim Chair of the Computer Science Department.

In announcing the move, UTEP President Diana Natalicio emphasized Dr. Flores' work in creating opportunities for underrepresented minority students in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. Earlier this year, Dr. Flores was honored by President Barack Obama with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentorship.

UTEP also announced that, effective September 1st, Patricia Witherspoon, Ph. D., dean of the Graduate School, will become acting dean of the College of Liberal Arts while Howard Daudistel, Ph.D., dean of UTEP’s College of Liberal Arts, will serve as interim provost. A national search is now underway to fill the provost position.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment