Nolan Richardson included in Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class

Nolan Richardson included in Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class

POSTED: Monday, April 7, 2014 - 10:58am

UPDATED: Monday, April 7, 2014 - 6:00pm

El Paso native Nolan Richardson will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on August 8, 2014. The announcement came on Monday morning, and includes nine other inductees into the Basketball Hall of Fame. Tim Hardaway, was also included as one of the finalists, but was ultimately not selected for the 2014 induction class.

Richardson, who was born in El Paso's Segundo Barrio and played for Texas Western (UTEP) under legendary coach Don Haskins for his Junior and Senior seasons.

After his time at Texas Western, Richardson coached at Bowie HS and then he moved to Western Texas College in Snyder, TX where he won a National Junior College Championship in 1980. Richardson was the head coach at Tulsa for four years from 1981 to 1985 and led Tulsa to the NIT Championship in 1981.

In 1985, Richardson went on to become the head coach for the University of Arkansas Razorbacks. At the time of his hiring, he was the first African-American coach at a major university in the south and the first African-American head coach of a men's program in the Southwest Conference (SWC).

During Richardson's time at Arkansas, he led the team to three NCAA Final Fours, ultimately winning the National Championship in 1994 against Duke. Richardson was named the 1998 SEC Coach of the Year. During his collegiate coaching career, Richardson compiled a record of 509-205. (.711).

Richardson is still the only coach to have won a Division I Basketball national Championship, an NIT championship and a Junior College National Championship. He was inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008.

Richardson currently has a street and an elementary school named in his honor here in El Paso. Each year, Richardson holds a charity golf tournament to raise money for charities in Texas, Oklahoma and Arkansas. This year, Coach Richardson's charity tournament will be held May 30- June 1, 2014 at the Fort Bliss Underwood Golf Complex. 

Other inductees for the 2014 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame are: Immaculata University (1972-74) team, Alonzo Mourning, Mich Richmond, Gary Williams, Bob Leonard, Nat Clifton, Sarunas Marciulionis, Guy Rodgers and David Stern.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment