At least three new faces expected on El Paso City Council

At least three new faces expected on El Paso City Council

POSTED: Saturday, May 11, 2013 - 11:31pm

UPDATED: Monday, May 13, 2013 - 11:10am

Mayor John Cook, Susie Byrd and Steve Ortega each reached their limit of two terms this election.

Going into the May, 2013 election, at least three new faces were expected to join El Paso City Council.

A fourth race included Northeast City Representative Carl Robinson who was facing three opponents to keep his seat.

District three representative Emma Acosta ran unopposed.

City Manager Joyce Wilson said there are several projects in the works that are expected to roll out in the next year to five years.

Wilson said the new members of City Council will have to be committed to the future of the community.

"We've done this every two years. We've had one or two new people come onto the City Council and it's been a very smooth transition. In general, the council has sort of stayed with the game plan that was really about creating jobs and building a community of the future for the people that live here," said Wilson.

Wilson said she looks forward to developing working relationships with the new members of Council and helping them transition.

Oscar Leeser will face Steve Ortega in a runoff election for mayor.

The District 2 seat, which is currently held by Susie Byrd, will go to a runoff  election between Jim Tolbert and Larry Romero.

District 4 in Northeast El Paso will also be a runoff between incumbent Carl Robinson and Sam Morgan.

The District 7 seat held by Steve Ortega will be a runoff between Tania Chozet and Lily Limon.

All new members of El Paso City Council will be sworn in at the same time, after the June 15 runoff election.




Comments News Comments

Post new Comment