EPISD swears in new board members


POSTED: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 - 5:17pm

UPDATED: Tuesday, May 7, 2013 - 5:24pm

The El Paso Independent School District starts anew with an appointed board of managers. Texas Education Commissioner Michael Williams was in town for the swearing in.

The Department of Justice gave Commissioner Williams the green light last week to appoint a new board of managers to EPISD.

Commissioner Williams sent former trustees this letter Monday formally notifying them of this change in leadership. He decided to remove the board's power in December due to public distrust following the widespread cheating scandal involving former superintendent Lorenzo Garcia among others.

The new five-member board of managers included Dee Margo, Ed Archuleta, Dr. Judy Castleberry, Dr. Blanca Enriquez and Carmen Arrieta-Candelaria.

Williams appointed Vernon Butler to continue to serve as EPISD Interim Superintendent.

At the meeting this afternoon, the board of managers was expected to elect officers, a spokesperson and to discuss a timeline for future meetings. Board managers will also discuss a timeline for searching and selecting a new superintendent.

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment